PDA

View Full Version : looking to buy several SA lines and z axis 6 weight

johnson wozniak
08-02-2007, 11:30 AM
Money is not an issue, wondering what lines I should get for the z axis and I also have a tfo finese 4 weight. I want the very best lines. I am thinking
z-axis 6 weight:
mastery nymph dry tip 6 weight
mastery expert distance 6 weight
mastery freshwater floating lines gpx dry tip technology wf 6

tfo finese
mastery freshwater floating lines gpx dry tip technology wf 6
QUestion, if I got a SA steelhead line, would I be able to do spey casts? What line would load my 4 weight finese?

jhaquett
08-02-2007, 12:04 PM
I have a Mastery Uniform Sink 6 weight that I don't use enough if you are interested in that.

Jeff C.
08-02-2007, 01:26 PM
Stop by at Kiene's. They have a reference sheet on the optimum lines for each Z-Axis rod.

johnson wozniak
08-02-2007, 03:00 PM
Stop by at Kiene's. They have a reference sheet on the optimum lines for each Z-Axis rod.

I would, but I am way up in northern california by the border, where the mountains are tall and the tap water is unfiltered glacier water.

Pimpinmeat
08-02-2007, 03:31 PM
Forget the mastery expert distance 6 weight and just get the SA Steelhead line. Last year I needed to replace my 7wt line, stripped it off and gave it away, and went looking for the steelhead line(which I've used and loved) and couldn't find anyone who had it in stock. I needed line so I was forced to the Expert Distance. It nice stuff but nothing like throwing the steelhead line. The mending and roll casting can't be beat.

Matt Steffens
08-02-2007, 09:02 PM
I think you ment WF 4, Cause a 6 WT would be way too heavy. The finesse will load just fine with the gpx line, you might think about the Mastery trout taper in a DT 4, for nice roll casts in heavy cover though. I have one on a 4wt and am very happy with it.

dtp916
08-03-2007, 10:19 AM
Nice call Matt, you know more than I thought you did :lol: :lol: :lol: I'm kidding.